Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

I'm worth more than I thought.

The first born male Talpa came around last night with some belated birthday presents for me.  Among them was a pack of Scottish smoked salmon marinated in malt whisky  and dusted with edible gold lustre. It had been eye-wateringly expensive but being a lad with Yorkshire and Scots genes he had wisely obtained it very much reduced in price as it reached its sell-by-date.
The bad news is that edible gold lustre contains no real gold! However it got me thinking about whether we have any gold in our bodies. My trusty old Geigy Scientific Tables state that we have some 0.2 mg of gold lurking in our tissues. That represents a 0.22 mm wide cube of pure gold, worth, at today's price, £0.008. I am richer than I thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.