The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wootton Bassett (Saturday 23rd November 2019)

It's been a grey, rainy, dispiriting week and as I'm not a blip-a-day-er I have not been tempted to upload any images. I postponed a trip I'd planned to Swindon yesterday because of the foul weather but struck out today, only to realise along the way that it was a mistake, and stopped at Templars Firs for a stroll along the disused canal instead (thus forfeiting the free John Lewis coffee and cake I could have claimed on the last day of a voucher, had I reached Swindon).
I almost had the canal to myself but the light was poor, the path very muddy, the water voles absent and the swan family out of sight. I did see a kestrel hovering in the adjacent field, a lovely sight far less common than it used to be. I have done some post-processing to this image in an attempt to give it a little atmosphere. Looks better Large.

L.
23.11.2019 (1942 hr)

Blip #3095 (#2845 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2019 #272 + #092/100 Extras
Day #3530 (784 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2224 (#2065 + 159 in archived blips)

Wootton Bassett series
Templars Firs series
Wilts and Berks Canal series
Canals series
Trees series
Autumn series
Landscape series

Taken with Pentax K1 Mark II with Irix IL-11FF-PK 11mm F4 Firefly manual full-frame prime lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Bob Dylan - Easy and slow (recorded 29 October 1975, Seacrest Motel Rehearsals, North Falmouth MA)
Dylan learned this old Dublin refrain while he was in Ireland and only ever seems to have performed it once, a solo performance during rehearsals for the Rolling Thunder Revue tour, which was due to commence the following day. The song was used by Sean O'Casey in the play Red Roses For Me in the 1940s and was more recently recorded by the Dubliners, but Dylan probably learned it from the Clancy Brothers. I found it in the Rolling Thunder Revue - The 1975 Live Recordings 14CD box set that I am working through at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.