Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

What were the chances!!

I can't take any credit for this image.  It was taken today on the South Island of New Zealand and I have an amazing story to tell of how it came about.  Many of you will recognise Blip Legend "Rainie" from Timaru but you won't have seen the two friends of mine standing next to her.  Their names are Sue (in the middle) and her partner Robyn.

Sue and Robyn flew out of Australia a couple of days ago to visit the Nelson region and meet up with two friends.  Early this morning I sent them a link to the last two blip journals that rainie had posted, mainly because the images were from a very similar area to the one my friends would be visiting.   Now stay with me here because there's more!  

I nearly fell off my chair today when I received the following message from rainie - "Look who I ran into just now.  And we're in whop whops"!!
and the next message - "Your two mates from the Blue Mountains".

What is even more remarkable is that rainie and Doug actually know Robyn and Sue's friends and they're staying on the same property in slightly different accommodation.  I can't start to tell you how thrilled I am that my friends have all met up in such an amazing way.  I know they are going to get on like a house on fire and they'll be fighting each other for air time I reckon.  You know what it's like when legendary photographers get together :)  

Anyway, it's a story that needs to be shared and I'm delighted that I was given permission to post the photos tonight.  The extra was taken by Sue of the wonderful Mr and Mrs Gibb.  

As I've been typing my journal tonight I have been totally distracted by the little wrens that have been flitting around for the past half an hour.  They were absent this morning and I figured that because the ground and grasses were damp they decided to give the house building business a miss today.  Happily they have been back in business this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.