CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The deer in the carrot crop, Stancombe Beech farm

Before I went to get supplies from the farm shop I drove past their entrance to get to the Bisley Green Shop and garage. Just after the entrance to Keith's house, one of the brothers and sister who own the farm, I saw two large ears sticking up out of the rows of carrots. Thinking they might be a hare, I pulled over immediately and taking my camera I gingerly went back to to a vantage point. 

As soon as I'd focused I realised that they were not the ears of a hare, and immediately the beast rose up to its full height revealing itself as a deer. It had been crouching between the rows of carrots with its head in the tops merrily eating away on the fresh and tasty greens. Then another deer stood up from the rough ground close by and after looking at me watching them they cantered away together.

Soon after Keith told me that he sees them regularly but he can't stop them from taking the tops. Luckily they don't go after the roots so the p[roper crop isn't damaged. I bought a bunch of freshly picked carrots and he showed me the area of the tops which had been munched away!

Unfortunately the light was really tricky for me with the sun shining from low in the sky directly behind the deer. Not a great photograph but an interesting blip moment for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.