and through the wire...

By hesscat

Steve Mason @ LaBelleAngele

Out again, on a school night?

Mrs C and I share a great deal of musical tastes, for a long time, but maybe that is not surprising given our tastes are wide. However, I have struggled with Mrs C's love of Steve Mason (The Beta Band) and I have not taken to him... I know he is good, talented and critically acclaimed... but I've just found some of his music a bit meh. So when he announced he was playing on our doorstep in Edinburgh, she was desperate to go... but I couldn't bring myself to say I'd go... so she bought a ticket for herself... I know, I am bad... selfish... stubborn... yup me.

So I spent some time thinking about how...er.. bad... and er... selfish... and er... whatever else... and persuaded myself to buy a ticket for myself, and gave it to her for her birthday. Oh man, what a guy... what. a. guy! What a sacrifice... I know, I know, she was and always will be eternally grateful. Hmmm.  what's that in my cheek.... oh my tongue.

However (what more?), I still had to go to see him... hmmm... to offset that, Pictish Trail was supporting (2nd extra) who Mrs C thinks we have seen the most out of anyone... not usually because we have gone to see him specifically, but he was once in league with King Creosote (who we've seen lots) and has played at every Green Man Festival (17) and we've been to 7... so, we enjoyed him as usual. And then in the front row it was Steve's chance to turn me, and he probably got me to 75%... ish... which was much more than before! Yes, I enjoyed him too, Mrs C loved it, she is far left of main blip as Steve came up to his adoring fans.

Yes, so before, I think his dancing put me off... and he always looked angry. But despite still not being able to dance, I found he is angry about the same things I am angry about, ok cool. And he's funny... bonus! But I am still scared of him. And here was a funny exchange:

Steve: Ask me a question?
Crowd: What football team do you support?
Steve: I **** hate football, all the politics... hate.. fighting... rant, rant, just be friends people.
Steve: At Norwich the other day they crowd asked me what I had had for my tea... (shrugs his shoulders)
Crowd: So how did you answer?
Steve: I said, "Look, in this business it's a hard road to the top, and I've no had ma tea!"

Apologies.

Happy Birthday Mrs C!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.