Graham Parker at Union Chapel

My brother treated us to this concert at the union Chapel in Islington, a beautiful church used for gigs with a fantastic bar and charity run restaurant in aid of the homeless, a couple of his friends also came along, we had chicken curry and shared a bottle of wine.
The support act was a bloke on guitar who we thought was dreadful, it wasn’t that there was anything wrong with him It was more that he made no emotional connection with us and his songs were just meaningless to me, almost like he tried too hard with his lyrics and ended up being so cryptic that the song probably only meant something to him.
I don’t really know Graham Parker’s material but I did buy ‘hey Lord don’t ask me questions’ on 45 back in the 70s which I love, it’s basically his only big hit and he didn’t play it! It’s quite a tall order to listen to someone singing original material that you’ve never heard for 90 mins when they’re just playing guitar And have no band or anything, I did enjoy it but it was definitely too long and the church pews were quite uncomfortable after a while, Max absolutely hated it and said it’s the worst he’s ever been to LOL, so Gilbert O’Sullivan has been demoted to his second worst gig ever now.... I just can’t believe the arrogance of not playing your biggest/only hit personally.

I enjoyed getting out the house anyway and it was nice to go out with Max and to see Tom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.