Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Back to another bowl blank!!!!!!!

     I spent this morning sanding down the outside of the bowl I am making, sealing it and then polishing it as shown in the extras.
     I made a start on turning out the bowl as you can see BUT almost half way through it this crack appeared and on closer inspection the crack goes right the way through  and there is evidence of it showing on the outside of the bowl. ( Crack is just below Ash insert)
     If I carried on turning, it would have split and thrown the piece into the workshop and probably me as well. So for safety's sake I will have to start all over again.. 
     It sometimes happens but better to be safe than sorry. Luckily I still have time to turn another bowl for our friends Christmas Present.

Hope you are all well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.