Clear Skys After the Storm

Back Blip from Akaroa

After my osteopathy appointment I posted a Christmas parcel of to Canada then started to make my way to Akaroa. It was really warm and no wind. Within a few minutes the thunder and lighting started. It was rather scary in the car. Then the hail started to come down and it sure did come down!

After around 20 minutes it all stopped. When I got onto the Akaroa highway the hail was so thick you would have thought there had been a heavy snow storm. Luckily I had a car in front of me clearing a track to follow... could only go really, slowly. About 2 kilometres along the highway it all cleared and no sigh of any hail at all. The temperature dropped from the 20's down to 7c within a short time of the storm starting.

I was so luckily not to be caught in the tornado which hit apart of the city. Here is a link to the storm that hit Christchurch.

When I got to Akaroa I was told they had amazing thunder and lighting storm followed by some rain, but no hail. I took this photo just after I arrived. You can just about see the lawn.. it had grown so high and the weed had grown like a triffids!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.