To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Dammed

My love/hate relationship with the snow continues. How can I hate it when it leaves the scenery looking like this?

I got a little turned around this morning as I was heading from point A to point B and drove by this dammed up creek. That's a beaver dam in the foreground. People here in Massachusetts seem to have a love/hate relationship with the beavers. After becoming absent from the state in the 1700s, they were reintroduced in the early 1900s. Now, they are quite common and can be something of a nuisance.

We actually have a pair that lives in our pond out back, and they even built a lodge last fall out on the small island. I've seen them only a few times, but in the summer they can be heard far and wide when they slap their tails on the water! Personally, I'd rather have the beavers in my backyard than the bear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.