IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Fading light

I have taken rather a lot on lately, and I’m afraid keeping my journal afloat has slipped off the bottom of the list.
I had some sad news last week. The first thing I heard about it was a letter from the official receiver saying my accountant’s business was winding up, and in debt. Then it dawned on me there was something about his sad death. He was only a year or so younger than me, and while he wasn’t a personal friend, I have met him once or twice a year for the last fifteen years or more. We always had a friendly chat, he asked me how my family were doing and told me a little about his (now grown up) children. Further research revealed the information that he had sadly taken his own life.
The teaching weekend in Cambridge went well. My first weekend with a new group so I look forward to the next one in three weeks time.
Meanwhile, Hanne Lene and I had a day off, today. We had a relaxed, slow start and breakfast in the garden room, followed by a three hour session of tidying and clearing the garage. Not exactly exciting but it had to be done and looks a lot better now. You can get to the freezer without tripping over a bicycle or the lawnmower.
As a reward I am going to watch the football team I follow in theEuropean Champions League and put my feet up for an hour or two.
Hasta la vista.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.