Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

The Liberties

is an interesting part of central Dublin.

My daughter and I went to the NCAD Open Day (National College of Art & Design) today. We wanted to hear a talk on painting which was well worth the trip.

We had a walk around the Liberties and some lunch.

Tipsy Cake spotted in Mannings Bakery is my blip.

First extra is the Tree of Hope beside the grotto in St. Catherine’s Church - can you see rosary beads hanging on it.

When we were crossing the Liffey to catch the bus on the far side, the Farmer’s Protest travelled along the quays beside us. It was exciting - about 100 big tractors holding up the already jammed traffic in city centre. Lots of hooting and waving and roaring. Second extra is the urban/rural divide in action.


......

An interesting aside. I was telling my daughter about Willie Birmingham and ALONE - and the first meeting he held in Liberty Hall to galvanise the community to take care of the old and lonely in central Dublin. I was at that meeting and worked with ALONE until I left Ireland to travel. Please read about him here

https://alone.ie/about-us/history/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.