Summons

The view from our law firm’s office as I went there ahead of a summons to the Ministry of Labour about the status of our NGO and the right to work in country.

Salvador from the firm accompanied me to the meeting, which went smoothly enough as he has the gift of the gab. On the way he told me about his early career switch from religion to law, dropping his studies towards joining the priesthood.

‘I realised I am more than speaking to God and drinking wine.’

Whilst the theologians among us might say that there is a little more to religion than chugging back communion wine, it did make me chuckle and it lightened the mood on the way to account for myself. An extremely useful insight into how it must feel to be an immigrant trying to establish their status in the UK, jumping through bureaucratic hoops, navigating language barriers, being seen as having done something wrong, and receiving a general vibe of disdain.

Today it’s been hot enough to fry bacon on my forehead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.