Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Eastern Towhee

It was fun to see this guy helping himself to birdseed today. He's been here all year - Eastern towhees are year round residents - but in the spring and summer I generally just hear them singing and don't see them up near the house. But there he was this morning - and virtually every time I looked out at the feeder areas today - he was bopping around looking for seed. In fact, when I went outside in the half dark this morning to put the seed out I heard him shout "TWEET!" which is the first note of his song ("DRINK your TEA"). They often seem to shout "DRINK" repeatedly rather than finishing the phrase. I heard him and said to myself "Huh! That's a towhee." And then an hour or so later, sure enough, there he was. Suspicion confirmed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.