Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Misty

I've struggled to choose a photo for today's blip - it was such a wonderfully photogenic day, with low-lying banks of cloud/mist and the blue sky showing in between, the sun illuminating the remaining leaves and bright berries on the trees. What I can't show is the wonderful wood-smoke smell, as two gardeners in Benmore Gardens clear away the debris from the felling of old or diseased trees in what is officially the closed season for the gardens. My pal and I came upon this pair at the very top of the hill, and I've chosen them to represent the feeling of today, a real Autumn feeling just as the season ends.

After yesterday, it was therapeutic to be out having what turned out to be quite a strenuous morning which we ended by foraging for Advent Wreath greenery (not here, where I took the photo!) which I then deposited in the church. I had an absurdly late lunch in the study because a couple of men had arrived to set up our new streaming device for the radio (our Christmas present to each other) and after the trip to the church with the greenery I shut myself in the kitchen and made the Christmas cake.

I'm totally exhausted now - but writing the above has just reminded me I've not poured over the liquor left from soaking the dried fruit for a week. If you'll just excuse me ...

(I've just uploaded the rest of the day's photos into their own album on Flickr. You can see them here - if you click on each you see them properly.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.