It's Not Over Yet...

...but I did get out between drops. After a short walk around the neighborhood I was so intent on cleaning up the piles of leaves in the street that I nearly missed the rainbow. It took a young woman and her dog to wake me up to what was going on right behind me.

Last night's rain was stunningly heavy; I don't think I've ever heard the drainpipes make such a noise. Our power flickered out three or four times. At one point there was a huge bright blue flash in the sky and then all the houses on the other side of the street went dark. A lot of drama in a couple hours, but everything around here seemed to have made it through the night without any problem.

And now I've made my pie crusts for tomorrow, and I'm getting the sweet potatoes ready. Everything smells like holidays. I'm so grateful we're just going next door for dinner. Normal traffic is bad enough, but throw in the storms and holiday frenzy and boy am I glad to stay right here. Looking forward to a warm evening with the neighbors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.