Richard P

By ricky_p

London Marathon Entry

Today was the day Championship entry opened for next year's London Marathon

I started training for this unofficially 3.5 weeks ago but that has now changed receiving this email. 150 days to go

I have not run a marathon previously as I always had the excuses that I wouldn't do one before I was 25 or while I was prioritizing other races. I then found myself a few months back thinking about the plans for next year and these previous excuses were no longer valid. I also realised this was perhaps the best opportunity I would get, given other friends are also marathon training.

Time-wise my hope is to run under 2:40. This is a little over the VDOT equivalent of a 1:14:30 half but at this stage I still need to do lots of long training runs at this pace. I can always re-evaluate later. I would prefer to have a good first experience than to have a negative one and never want to enter one again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.