Not every day

By ppatrick

Early learning?

I took Raki to our local beach and she spent a happy hour running around with a couple of other dogs. Then I got talking to someone and lost sight of her. I saw a movement up in the far top corner of the beach which I thought might be her, but when I got closer I saw that it was a young seal. By now it should be out at sea catching fish, not clambering around confusedly on one of the busiest beaches in the area. It was lucky that none of the dogs had encountered it. We called the marine rescue service who later reported that they had taken it to a shelter, and that it was seriously under weight for its age. I also spoke to our local sea trust, who said that a young seal had been popping up in unsuitable places along the coast, so this was probably the same one. I guess something went wrong with the parenting. Sure Start for marine mammals, perhaps...?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.