Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Not those again!

I had these on when I had my operation in 2014 and I was not thrilled when they put them on in recovery yesterday afternoon. They are a good idea but kept me awake most of the night and I could even hear the ones in the room next door.  Flowtron.

Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday. The operation went well and took about 2 hours. From the nurse in recovery to the nurses and porters everyone was absolutely wonderful and I was very well looked after. I had told the anaesthetist about being ill the last two times and so he gave it by IV rather than a mask so I woke up feeling much better and hardly felt sick. So much so I tucked into poached eggs, toast, mushrooms and spinach with a Greek yoghurt when I was back in my room. 

I had a lovely nurse who was a diabetes expert and she sat with me for about 45 minutes when I was back in my room, and distracted me from the pain. They had given me “some good stuff” in recovery but it worked a bit too well and I went to sleep and my respiratory rate dropped too low. I was told later when it gets to 10 breaths per minute then you are not allowed more, and at 8 they have to breathe for you. 

The surgeon came back to see me with pictures and said it was an even bigger tear than the scan showed and he had to use 4 sutures instead of the normal 3, and it had also been pulling the lining away from my hip socket. He was pleased with how it had gone, but I have to wait 6 months before knowing if it has worked. 

I had a bad night as the Flowtrons kept me awake, as well as pain. I could even hear the ones in the room next door. When I woke up and looked it my inbox I seemed to have bought some Black Friday Christmas presents for Mr T!  It wasn’t me it was the anaesthetic!

Anyway after breakfast (pancakes and yoghurt) this morning I had a refresher course on crutches, physio exercises again (as I had been given the wrong ones) and then I was allowed to go home. I was told by the physio that once I am recovered enough I can have a 3 month membership of one of their gyms and a personal trainer to help me recovery. Apparently the one close to us has a nice pool!

I am quite sore at the moment but looking forward to my own bed tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.