The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

Egilsay

I had a job to do on the island of Egilsay today.

My first visit there, so I'm still getting the hang of the ferry route. To end up on Egilsay we went to Rousay, then Wyre, then Rousay again and finally Egilsay. All short hops and geared I guess to transporting children from the smallest islands onto Rousay where the primary school is. I only spotted one child travelling this morning but it's an important service to provide.

The wind was bitterly cold and showers heavy so what a joy to find the community hall open for visitors. There are only about 20 residents on the island but they clearly have an active and enthusiastic community association. M and I settled in the lounge to eat our picnic. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the kitchen and the lounge offers an excellent selection of books and an array of comfortable chairs. Oh, and free WiFi!

My blip is of St Magnus Church, an interesting and unusual building. Its round bell tower was originally nearly 20 meters high. It's still a prominent local landmark even though the tower is no longer at its full height.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.