wlmjr

By wlmjr

“Forward, never straight.”

Growing up, my Great Uncle Paul occasionally reminded me “Forward, never straight”... seeing perhaps that I struggled with the notion that my life somehow needed to be planned to every detail & executed strategically in order to reach my goals along the way. I believed there was no room for error & if I somehow strayed away from a precise course I’d set out for myself, my life would’ve tragically been left unfulfilled at the end of all things. In hindsight my younger self’s perspective was clearly narrow in scope. I was a perfectionist who couldn’t appreciate the journey.

I genuinely believed my time on earth was merely about point A & point B... nothing in between. I’ve since experienced a great deal of hardship, love, maturity, accomplishment, loss, development & joy... all of which has amounted to a new-found understanding of the way of things. Life is meaningless without all the twists AND turns in the middle. Stay fresh! Go with the flow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.