stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

South Beach Sunset

South Beach, Troon

An early start this morning as I headed across to Glasgow to meet up with my pal for a visit to the cinema to see The Hobbit which had been postponed from New Year.

I know it's had mixed reviews, but I really liked it. We went to the 24 fps 2D "standard" version though. Not sure if I'm ready for the 48fps 3D. Of course, there's a lot of padding. I mean, to make a trilogy of films, each a little under three hours long based on that book, there'd have to be, but I'm sure Tolkien would have approved. I'm also glad that Peter Jackson took the reins again. I'd have loved to have seen how Guillermo Del Toro would have interpreted the story, but with PJ in charge there is a continuity in look and feel from The Lord of the Rings which means this trilogy will fit seamlessly in front of the original films. Can't wait to see the rest!

As we headed down the road to take him home, the sunset forming over the Clyde was simply beautiful. By the time we arrived in Troon a lot of the colour had gone but luckily, the sun was dipping under the lower level of clouds which produced a lovely glimmering reflection on the water.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.