Bank of Scotland Hide Memorial!

5°C  -  feels like 2°C  -  14 mph Wind  -  Sunny with a few clouds.  Went to the Bank of Scotland Hide in the Nature Reserve.  Only one other person with a foot long telephoto lens in there. He said not much going on, but he had seen a Kingfisher fly by at a speed too fast to be captured!  I stayed a while but not long.  On my way up the walk down to the Hide I came across this memorial that I’d never noticed before.  I was taken by the lovely quote on the plaque.  Russell and Mary had obviously been visitors to the Hide and enjoyed the experience  -  the plaque had been hidden by the scrub, but someone had cleared and cleaned it up. I’ll make sure it is kept cleared in future so that future visitors can see it.  The extra shows the little bridge across a ditch leading up to the memorial.  Here is a link to Violet Jacob http://womenofscotland.org.uk/women/violet-jacob  -  the poet that wrote the poem the quote is taken from. Here's a bit of a translation from the Scots:
Abune  =  overhead;  Strath  =  river valley with meadows either side;  flee  =  fly;  lang  =  long;  heid  =  head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.