goggle head

In my lunch hour, I went to the latest exhibition at Gracefield - "Dame  Elisabeth Frink- Birds and Beasts". I'd always associated Frink with sculpture but I hadn't known about her prints. Most of the ones shown here were of birds, horses or bulls, all with amazing energy and colour. 

And then there was this "Goggle Head", watching all corners of the room from behind those glasses, menacing and disturbing. From the Tate's website : Man, either as victim or aggressor, was a dominant theme throughout the career of British sculptor Elisabeth Frink. In the late 1960s she embarked on a series of male busts in which the eyes are concealed by sinister, polished goggles. The obscured identity of the person behind the goggles creates a sense of menace and aggression, presenting an archetype of man rather than an image of an individual. Frink considered these busts to be her first explicit comments on the world’s inhumanity, and said later that ‘they became a symbol of evil for me’. 

It's been a beautiful frosty day today so I was glad of a short walk before work and my lunch eaten in the grounds of Gracefield. Skeins of geese were flying over the cafe as I arrived at work and a new crescent moon hung low in the sky as I left.

It's bivvy night tonight, I shan't go far this time but I'm looking forward to it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.