Marsupium Photography

By magi

UCU strike day 5 - joining the climate strike

Today ended up quite busy. In the morning I joined the picket line in Drummond St. They have a lovely fire and are closer to the Parliament where today's climate protest was taking part. Not much happened on the picket line other than being able to chat about all sorts of stuff we don't usually get to talk about. The UCU strike was timed in such a way that we could join the global climate strike which we did.

In the evening I went to a very interesting panel discussion on machine learning, biases, failures and fairness. I admit I felt somewhat guilty to break the strike. On the other hand I am very much interested in the topic and I think it is hugely important. I guess this is one of the problems of striking university workers. There are some aspects to our work that we very much enjoy and love doing. Anyway, I have added a summary of my thoughts on this evening to my blog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.