Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mill Lane in Autumn

Finally, cold, crisp and sunny.  I made my way over to Weston Park to pick up something up and take a few more photographs in the last of the autumn colour.  As I'd come up the M54 I went along Mill Lane from Tong as the colours are usually worth an inspection.  Although  much of the lane is in shade because of the large knoll at the back of Weston Park there is a short length that gets the late morning sun.  I stopped by Tong Gate and looked back on this scene.  

I also added an extra from Temple Pool of the trunk of one of the silver birches with a back drop of a larch tree in autumn colours.

Technical: A very involved processing.  Firstly I used the normal PV approach choosing one of the foreground trees for alignment.  It resulted in the rest of the trees loosing their definition and the only other thing that stood out was the lane itself.  That wasn't what I wanted so I created a new layer from the result and then went through the same process, using another focal point for alignment, creating another new layer from the result.  I repeated this a further three times.


I then blended these new layers into a final image with the result that there is more definition on either side of lane as it recedes into the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.