Mystery Solved

All summer I've noticed birds at the very tops of trees above the river in two different areas as seen in the extra.  Usually there's a lot of them together but they're too far away to see exactly what they are.  Today I finally got close enough by walking out on the bridge.  They're pigeons!  Since this areas is semi-rural, I never expected to see a flock of pigeons.  Apparently, they nest in the nearby bridges.  Stokes' Field Guide says they can come in a range of colors, so here you see just some of the variety.  The white one kept its eye on me the entire time I was shooting.

Cleveland Metroparks chipped some downed trees and piled up the sawed trunks and wood chips for anyone who wanted to take them.  We hauled several loads to raise the path in the back of the backyard.  It looks really nice and smells great.  We're hoping it makes walking out there in the winter less soupy and icy.  We'll see!

I can't believe it's the weekend again already.  Have a great one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.