From Beyond The Veil?

“Death is a natural part of life. Rejoice for those around you who transform into the Force. Mourn them do not. Miss them do not. Attachment leads to jealously. The shadow of greed, that is.” (Yoda)


I was very interested to read this story this morning about a Star Wars fan in a hospice who was given a special treat by Disney boss Bob Iger; a private, sneak preview of The Rise Of Skywalker, because he may not live until the release date of December 20. I shared the story on facebook without actually reading it; I just read the headline and liked the accompanying photo.


About twenty minutes after sharing the story, I went back and read the whole story. I was amazed to read that this Star Wars fan is in the very same hospice, Rowan's Hospice in Waterlooville, where my mother passed away a few years ago.


Today's blip is one of the last photos I took of my mother. When she decided to forego further cancer treatment, I returned to England to take her for some fun day trips so that we could have some final happy times together. One of the places I took her to was a Star Wars exhibition at Madame Tussauds. This photo has a special poignancy for me. I firmly believe that, just as Yoda said, "Luminous beings are we, not this crude matter," and that life continues after our souls depart this mortal frame.


Do I believe that my mother is sending a message to me by shaping the events in this story? I am well aware how potty many people will regard that idea, but where would my convictions be if I denied my belief in the afterlife just to save face? So yes, I am absolutely sure that my mother's soul lives on and that she is trying to let me know; what better way to get my attention, after all, than with Jedi Knights, wookies and stormtroopers!


The Force is strong in my family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.