Winter Wood

I first began cutting firewood as a boy, and I first used a chainsaw to do it when my family's garage was turned into a sitting room with a fireplace. I was about 15 then.

I felled this 22-year old paper mulberry tree yesterday and returned this afternoon to cut it up. Now I feel familiar with this particular saw --not the gear I'd prefer, but it was affordable and serves its purpose well enough.

Many people dislike or fear working with chain saws, and once you get to know them, the reasons are clear. They are designed to deal with trees, and trees are very heavy. When you cut them you must understand the weight and you must know in which direction the wood will move, because if you call it wrong there could be a very real disaster such as the crushing of a building or person (usually yourself). Pieces of the trunk have a way of dancing on their way down.

Another big thing is that after the tree is down, every cut creates another loose obstacle that you can trip over. An electrical cord adds another item and that's one reason why gas-powered saws are better. I worked alone here but it's a particular job that becomes safer and easier when a good helper is on hand. The logs and branches should be moved away from the sawing right away. Anything else that complicates the ground under your feet, like mud or being on a slope, makes it worse.

These are some reasons why I don't think of the saw itself as having anything to do with the dangers of tree work. Every time I do this I have more respect for trees. Cut one unwisely, or in haste, and it might just change you or kill you right back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.