Well Past the Back of Beyond

I'd decided to come here as soon as we had a decent day. Today looked perfect, so I headed to Ashburton and onto the moor. I made for Princeton and turned off. When I arrived at the back of beyond I parked and carried on walking. After a little while walking the boggy path, the farmhouse came into view and as I approached the sun came out.

Nun's Cross Farm has become an iconic location for photographers and you can see why with its rickety gate and the nicely placed tree. It is very remote and in a very wild part of the moor. The boarded up windows and barricaded door don't add much appeal to the photos. Today despite the sunshine it seemed very bleak with a very cold breeze coming from the north. My hands were soon freezing despite my warm fingerless gloves.

Job done, I headed up the hill a little way to visit Nun's Cross or Siward's Cross, to use its correct name and then back to the van and home for lunch.

PS if you like the idea you can rent the place for yourself and 35 friends. It has all a few mod cons (as long as you don't mind dipping your water from the Devonport leat nearby).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.