Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Through the keyhole

In 1828, Newburgh-on-Ythan became the first port in Scotland to have a Lifeboat Station, provided by the Shipwreck Institution. The RNLI, as the Institution was to become, continued to base a lifeboat at Newburgh until 1961.

The old lifeboat house, which I photographed two days ago, still stands among the dunes at the mouth of the Ythan estuary. In recent times it has been used for storage by salmon fishermen. Today, as I stuck the lens of my camera through a small hole in the door, I felt a little like Howard Carter opening King Tut's tomb, to see the wonderful things within.

I blipped the same view about 5 years ago; nothing has changed, the tomb robbers haven't discovered the treasures!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.