Dexter the Organizer Tackles the Papers

It would go down on the books as a birthday snowstorm, for the ice storm that occurred on Sunday morning into the afternoon transitioned into snow for the overnight. I awoke on Monday, my birthday, to white stuff on the ground. (Here is a picture of Dexter, but I promise you that I'll show you some snow tomorrow!)

There were several more rounds of flurries in the afternoon just to keep things interesting, but they didn't amount to much. A few weeks ago, I had decided to take my birthday off. So I didn't need to worry about travels or buses or getting anywhere fast; I could simply stay in and enjoy a cozy snow day, and extend my Thanksgiving break by one extra day.

I  have been trying to do better in getting organized around the house. Stuff I brought home from my sister's house and personal items I brought home from the office in my most recent move have been piling up. And there are papers galore everywhere, as per usual. So that's what I've been working on tidying up. Yeah, wish me luck!

This was a scene at our house around the mid-day. I had decided it was time to get into the stack of papers on the kitchen table and also some I'd stuck in a tote nearby. I went into the bedroom and sorted them on the bed - paid bills, bank statements, investments, medical stuff, work stuff, receipts, the random this or that.

And as you can see, my sorting task immediately attracted an expert helper: Dexter the Tabby, also known as The Helperton. (And on this day, perhaps, Dexter the Organizer.) Look at his paws, neatly tucked beneath himself. He seems to be saying: "We need something to put it all in, Mawm!" And he was right: I got a plastic tote or two and that's where the papers went! Good job, Dexter!

My soundtrack song must be about papers. Here is ANOTHER thing to do with papers besides organize them and keep them around: John Mellencamp, with Paper in Fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.