JimNotJon

By JimNotJon

The Great Poet..

Waking up and looking out the window to discover we had a dusting of snow this morning was no surprise, however like much of the UK, it progressively got worse (and there is more to come). I like the snow, when I am at home in the warm. It's nice to look at but with my job in which I drive across Lincolnshire, especially up in the wolds, it's not so fun.

However, it does make for good photo opportunities. I have been out delivering on the East Coast this morning, across Spilsby, Alford and everywhere inbetween but the fantastic snow quilted views were hampered by mist, so unfortunately that idea went out the window.
Later on in the day I passed Lincoln Cathedral. I love the place, and always take photographs up there (see Blip Day 5 ) and I have never managed to have time to capture it in the snow. So here is a shot of the Alfred Lord Tennyson monument, which is one of my favorite vantage points.

The monument of Tennyson and his dog Karenina, can be found on the green in the grounds of Lincoln Cathedral. The celebrated 19th century poet was from Lincolnshire. He was born in the tiny village of Somersby and schooled in Louth. I have actually delivered to Tennyson's old home, Candle Shoe House many a time with work.
The monument was created by a George Frederic Watts (1817- 1904) and was a good friend of Tennyson. Watts began work on the memorial statue of the great poet when he was in his eighties. He had first met Alfred in 1857 at Little Holland House in Kensington and in the following years Watts painted him six times and the two men became lifelong friends.

There is a plaque on the base of the statue featuring the words of Tennyson's 'Flower in the Crannied Wall':

Flower in the crannied wall,
I pluck you out of the crannies,
I hold you here, root and all, in my hand,
Little flower -but if I could understand
What you are, root and all, and all in all,
I should know what God and man is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.