Sale Time Special Value

Today's the day …………………….. for a bargain

We've been doing a bit of redecorating in the kitchen - and today, Will unscrewed a light switch to find a folded up bit of newspaper acting as padding inside.

After a bit of detective work to find out when it was published, we reckoned that it was from a Daily Telegraph - somewhere round the middle of February 1978.  So that makes it more than forty years since it was stuffed inside the switch. This advert for a 'delightful dress made in a silky Polyester jersey'  caught my eye and made me smile.  Back then, the way to pay was by crossed Postal Order, cheque or registered cash.  You could use the National Giro system (Their No: 310 1010) - or if you wished to pay Cash On Delivery,  then it was 50p extra.

Of course, I say - back then - but when I think about it, I was in my late 20s in 1978.  I may think that I am looking at some sort of ancient archive, but it is quite conceivable that I could have sent away for this dress myself?

Eek ……………………..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.