The Book with the Missing Pages

My village train station has a library of used books in the waiting room. I browsed the shelves this morning waiting for my delayed train.

The genres ranged from wartime romance to thrillers to rom coms. I picked up a copy of Queen Victoria’s Matchmaking: The Royal Marriages that Shaped Europe and put my donation in the tin for Macmillan Cancer Relief and the Guide Dogs.

I sat down on the train pleased with my unexpected book purchase and opened the cover to begin reading. Page 35 stared back at me. Hang on a minute... where are the first 34 pages?

I’d done my usual thing and read the back cover as well as a random page in the middle. If it’s any good I’ll have to find another copy to read the first few pages!

The two train journeys with further delays flew by as I immersed myself in the world of 1887 when Queen Victoria’s daughter Vicky was devastated about her dying husband Frederick who then left the Prussian throne to Wilhelm II.

Day two of a trade show in London with my film office hat on. Journey in and out of London was a nightmare due to train disruption - cancellations, delays, overcrowding - thankful I only have to do this a few times a year.

Five hours commuting is too much on top of a long day on a trade stand. My film colleagues in Manchester got home in the same time it took me back to Kent - even on the high speed service. £77.50 day return and not even a seat. What a joke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.