Ghost Sign...AND...Alley Cats

I was wandering around some of the old parts of Denver this morning, looking for a place to have breakfast. I love ‘ghost signs’ and I came across this one that I’d never seen before.

And then I looked closely - there are cats everywhere at the top of the building! Then I saw them more and more as I walked down the alleyway a little bit. There were dozens of them - sitting or sleeping on every ledge or window and even on the top of the lampposts.

I soon learned that it’s an art installation called ‘Alley Cats’. It’s part of an art series displayed in alleys around the downtown area called “Between Us: The Downtown Denver Alleyways Project”. Further information on the sign says:

“Art has the power to change the way we see and interact with the world. By reimagining alleyways as artworks, ‘Between Us’...aspires to soften public space and encourage city dwellers to observe the overlooked parts of our urban environment.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.