Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Musings on not sleeping

I used to be a good sleeper…just go to bed, read a little, sleep and wake up in the morning, usually.  A few months ago now, this changed and there is much trouble sleeping.  Who knows why.  So, since it’s so dark at 3:00 these days..almost seems like time to go to bed (My Tai chi teacher said that today!) … I thot I’d do a blip about insomnia and ask if anyone has any magic potion or tried and true method to put oneself to sleep.  

Here’s what I’ve done so far: NO coffee after 1:00PM; NO wine, 1 glass of wine,  OR more wine at dinner;  blue light lenses to wear over my glasses when looking at screens (but I forget about putting them on more than I have worn them…and now I’ve just left them at the island!)… the app CALM (it has lots of interesting info about meditation and winding down exercise as well as scientific info and sleep stories  and soundscapes..the “ocean waves” is the best….who would want to listen to a washing machine (there is one )  …but one night I WOKE to hear H stumbling around muttering to turn the darn iPad  off…it hadn’t gone off as planned!);  Get up and go to another room (downstairs)  and read or knit..or work the puzzle at the island, and then I usually do some Tai Chi in an attempt to wear out my restless limbs (this usually works but I’d rather not get up to do it…altho I also don’t mind the reading time:-))   Better than lying in bed listening to my heart with it’s own peculiar rhythm.  OH yes, warm milk;   Or cheese before bed (not sweets) as suggested by the sleep Dr on the CALM app.  Occasionally 1 tylenol helps.   I’m sure getting old doesn’t much help either.

Here’s what I’ve learned: I think I don’t actually NEED as much sleep as I thought I did.  I suspect I”m getting more than I THINK I am.  I’m not THAT tired.   I don’t have one of those watches that’s tells you how much and what kind of sleep you had.. but am thinking about it.
Blipped this bright cozy afghan that I’ve been mending…we saw one like it in the Nordic museum of immigrant things but I don’t think it’s particularly Nordic..Granny squares, crocheted by the wife of a mechanic that worked for my Dad when I was a kid.


Any suggestions, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.