nataliespencer

By nataliespencer

Megan Fullam - 19

How heavily do opinions from those around you, affect the way you think?
Very heavily. I always listen to everyone around me, it’s hard for me to make decisions for myself because I care so much about what others have to say.


What group of people are mostly affected by self perception due to social media?
Girls from 11-17 I’d say. I say this because my two other siblings face it and they’re both 13. One of my sister actually has a body dysmorphia disorder because of social media. 


Where does your conception of body image come from?
My sisters and my friends, and obviously the media. Everywhere around me is skinny, everything around me is skinny. You have to look like that or nobody will care about you. 



In what ways did your mother’s self perception affect your own?
My mom’s self perception affects my own because it’s my mom, she’s the lead role in my life. Everything she does, I pay close attention to, however she doesn’t do or say anything about her body in front of me. She just emphasizes eating well and taking care of ourselves to stay healthy. She constantly reminds me that I am healthy, and that I should never change for anyone but myself, for the right reasons.


To what extent does the social media standard affect your own opinion on an ideal body image?
It’s the biggest factor in my own body image, my ideal is a skinny waist, big chest, skinny long legs. I follow a girl named Kelsey on instagram and she’s a model, she is everything I want to be.


At which age did you begin to pay attention to your body changes?
When I was around 16, it’s when Instagram started to become more focused on models. I never really cared about how my body looked until social media engraved in my head that people are only attracted to skinny girls.


In your opinion, do most girls have a negative or positive body image?
Negative, for everyone around me atleast. I had a friend in high school who starved herself one time because she wanted this guy to like her and he told her the only way he would be if she had a small waist. As we got older, and got past grade school, it was still a common thing to hear from males. 


What can be done to promote positive body image?


Showing more body types the way they show skinny ones. If people saw other bodies, and it became normal, not everyone would urgently feel the need to be skinny. Also talking about it in school more often, nobody even knows much about this topic because we aren’t told anything about it. 


How often do you find yourself on social media?

During idle time, any free time I have is spent on my phone. I know it’s unhealthy but it’s become a habit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.