Goose. With tongue

This afternoon I went for a vaccination at the health centre where the waiting-room's westward views of the lake tempted me into classic sunset-with-winter-trees-and-silhouetted-window-frame shots. I thought one would be my blip since I expected the light to be gone when I got out. But it wasn't, quite, and as I walked home along the lake trying to work out how orange turns into blue, the ugly blob preening itself in front of me suddenly stood straight up and loudly alerted the neighbourhood to its presence.

I know next to nothing about wildlife (it was me who posted a picture of a heron here and had to ask what it was) and I'm never going to skulk in a hide waiting for some crucial avian moment. So I was astounded to have a picture of honking goose with tongue. It's not going to happen again, so it has to be today's blip.

I'm posting much earlier than usual (I'm going to give the vaccination an early night) so you might have missed yesterday's - taken from almost exactly the same spot but at the opposite end of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.