Scary stuff

I've been sorting through loads of stuff today and came across some amazing photographs of when my father met a whole host of famous stars. He was a film critic for the Western Mail in his early years and this is where he met Bela Lugosi (pictured here) who was most famous for being the first Dracula. I remember my father telling me that he had to pose for this photo and when dad showed his terrified look, Bella replied, in his strong Hungarian accent: "No no, Mr Davalle....I frighten you, not you frighten me"!!
Dad had so many fantastic stories about meeting the stars but tragically he never wrote them down. Such a shame as everyone who knew him was fascinated by them. The list was long and impressive: John Wayne, Laurel and Hardy, Charlton Heston, Alfred Hitchcock.....to name just a few

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.