The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Shelducks

Yes, there is a small flock of shelducks in the middle distance, dabbling in the Morecambe Bay mud for tiny Hydrobia snails.  I was beginning to think this would be another grey, blipless day. Our house looks west onto the Knott, so it's difficult to tell what is happening with the setting sun.  I ventured down to Far Arnside to see if it would pop out as it was waning.  And there it was.  I always enjoy these few weeks either side of the shortest day when the sun sets in the Bay rather than behind land.

A fine end to a short winter's day that began with a walk in mizzly darkness over the Knott with Gus and then the trauma of a visit to the dentist in Kendal.  The filling that she replaced three times earlier this year fell out again on Halloween when I was eating a piece of Maggie's delicious fish cake that she had made for my work leaving do. This time it's beyond repair, and the choice was extraction or another piece of porcelain as a crown. I opted for the latter - the appointment for that will be in March, so I can put that out of my mind for a few months.

Much better was our next stop - at Wilf's in Staveley, where we had coffee and a veggie breakfast while we waited for E and A which led to one of three very good things that happened today.  I'm (unwisely) trusting my memory that I will remember what they were when I look back on this in a year or two.

This blip is dedicated to the memory of Peter Standing to whom I owe a lot in my photographic development. It was his memorial today at the same time as this was taken, I am pretty sure he would have approved of me going to see the sunset instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.