Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Arachnophobia

Today Sarah and I did a VIP day at Longleat - it was amazing.

We fed an Amur tiger bits of meat on a skewer - he was safely behind bars but every part of my brain was screaming at me to run away. We got up close with aardvarks, giraffes, four lions ( also terrifying when they started roaring), lemurs and snakes. We also got a special trip round the safari drive with a keeper, and this evening we saw the Festival of Light, which was very impressive. Sarah has absolutely loved it - me too, especially when I got the chance to handle Gwen the tarantula, despite my usual terrible arachnophobia. Thankfully she didn’t move much - not sure how I would’ve reacted if she had. They’re very delicate, they wouldn’t survive a fall so the keeper was very close at all times. If she were a house spider you wouldn’t have seen me for dust.....

What a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.