Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I have always loved colour

I have also always adored maths.
I love the fact that colours can be defined by numbers.
Wouldn't it be great if numbers could be defined by colours!

When I first learned to count I imagined numbers as though they were Scrabble tiles arranged in a straight vertical line increasing in value from bottom to top.
Numbers one to nineteen were in a white font on a black background and numbers 20 to 99 were in a black font on a white background.
I still picture them that way and I know that the changes occur at zero, twenty and one hundred. I have no idea why that may be, and they are always only in black and white.

Wouldn't it be brilliant if maths could be taught in a totally new way to help those who don't take to it naturally to see it in a different light.

I wish I were smart enough to work that one out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.