Plus ça change...

By SooB

Pasteis de Nata

Party tonight for our Portuguese neighbour who is moving soon.  It was a surprise party, but I think he had guessed.  These tarts are Portuguese custard tarts, but with the pastry done in a funny upside down way (think puff pastry on its side, not flat) and the custard done with sugar syrup.

Fun to try and not as hard as I feared.  They went down well.  Turns out he loathes Portuguese baking as it is all too sweet, but I had managed to make them not too sweet so he was happy.

Lots of fun chat, and TallGirl agreed to come so I didn't have to babysit Mr B (I don't really mean that, but since he doesn't speak much French he needs someone near him to help out).  CarbBoy, very much against the run of play, disappeared with the other teenagers to have fun, and I was therefore liberated to talk politics, language preference and local gossip with the other neighbours.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.