Santa arrives in the village

Saturday 7th December 2019

Christmas was certainly in full swing in the village today. The choir had their coffee morning in the hall, our Christmas Tree Festival was open and the Village had their outdoor Christmas Fair. The Fair was opened with a procession, which Santa took part in. No, Santa hasn't grown wings, there was a fairy beside him! 

I started the day with breakfast at the coffee morning. After a short period in church I then spent a good while around the village fair talking to all the stall holders and joining in the games - it cost me a fortune! :-) There was a 24hr spinathon raising money to support a young lad with cancer. I gave the elf a rest and did a 10 minute spin myself - extra.

We had about 450 people through the church today to see the trees. It was packed most of the day. We're down to the last few boxes of mince pies, we started with 900 (pies that is, not boxes!), and the mulled wine is also beginning to get a bit low. 

An amazing amount of money must have been spent in the village today! I bet a fair amount of alcohol was consumed as well. I know one of the stalls in the village fair had made 60 litres of mulled gin and they sold out a couple of hours before the end. That was on top of our mulled wine and another outdoor stall doing mulled wine! 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.