Jacqi's 365 Days 2013

By JacqiB

A Momentous Occasion

This might not look much to you but it was a very important moment for me.
For nearly all of my adult life I have had lots of books around me. In the comment section below you can see my bookshelves in 1995 and in 2008.
Three years and three months ago the packers came to our house and boxed all my books - and all our other stuff - to store and then ship them to New Zealand for our new life.
Because my bookshelves are track shelving that needs to be fixed securely to the wall I couldn't do that when we lived in rented accommodation. Now that we own our home we've been able to put the shelves up. Because the walls here are not brick, Rik had to establish where the joists are before attaching the tracks.
Today, the shelves are up and I placed the first book on the shelves. I then spend hours opening the 15 book boxes and taking out the books to put on the shelves. it felt so 'right'. I'm really home and settled now,

A year ago today I drank from a gift of golden-rimmed glasses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.