Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Rainy Day

It's been raining all day. I took a couple of photos of damp squirrels, but they were singularly uninspired. These cookies in their jar aren't particularly inspired, or inspiring, either - but they do indicate what I did with a good part of the day. It's that time of year.

The jar itself is perhaps somewhat interesting. It's a gallon sized jar, I'd say. It came - years and years ago - from Walnut Acres, which was - possibly still is - an organic/health foods concern in Pennsylvania somewhere. It was, when it came, full of peanut butter made from nothing but organic ground up peanuts. It was dreadful stuff. I'm not sure it had any salt added, but the worst thing about it was that you couldn't spread it properly on bread because it was so damned stiff. Even the whole wheat bread my mother made for us would crumble under its onslaught. I (this was when I was about 8 years old) used to go across the street to my friend Helen's house to enjoy Skippy peanut butter on white bread. With Welch's grape jelly. I may well have recounted this story before in a previous blip, for all I know. I do thank my mother for my healthy start in life - and have really only strayed from her healthy organic ways on rare occasions. Moderation in all things.

I have three of these jars. They are massively useful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.