Islandscape

By Islandscape

Starlit Glen More

A frustrating day's photography today. Not much going on at Loch na Keal this afternoon in terms of light (I'm spending a lot of time there at the moment as I'm working on a magazine feature about the area). At half-past nine tonight I set off for Glen More to try star trails with the ruined cottage and Ben Talaidh as foreground or to try 'painting' the ruin with light from a powerful torch. I left Tobermory under a crystal clear sky. By the time I got to Craignure, I encountered heavy rain. I decided to press on to Glen More and found broken cloud so star trails were not an option, particularly as there was a bank of cloud to the north which was the direction I had planned to photograph to get the star trails wheeling around the pole star. Unfortunately my first attempt at 'painting with light' didn't really work - the ruin looked like a giant weetabix. Think I shall try it with a simpler shape such as a lone tree. This was one of the images taken without torchlight. You can just make out the shape of the ruin on the right. A pretty poor image but I have to post something today for my daily journal and as this was taken at about 2340, I didn't really have any other options. But whilst it might have been an unproductive night for photography, it was wonderful being alone in the dark underneath a myriad of stars, listening to the river and waterfalls in the glen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.