A CHRISTMAS BIRTHDAY.....OR NOT?

At this time of year, when cards arrive from far and wide, Mr. HCB is always on the lookout for cards addressed just to me because he is pretty sure they are birthday cards.  Actually, we don’t send many Christmas cards now, preferring to give money to small charities that are often forgotten, so over the last few years, we don’t get as many cards as we used to and we are fine with that.

One of my favourite Aunts, who sadly died a little while ago, always used to send me a birthday card that said “For your Christmas Birthday” and although I loved her dearly, I disliked those cards, because all my life my birthday has been “tacked on” to Christmas and I would say, in rather a petulant way, I confess, “It’s NOT my Christmas birthday, it’s my birthday birthday!”  However, I never ever said it to her, so every year, that “Christmas Birthday” card came!

This one I received last week was different because the sender acknowledged that my birthday gets caught up with all the Christmas preparations.  It was from a favourite Blip friend - from one silly sausage to another - and you know who you are - who sends an early birthday card for me to enjoy, and this year, there were two presents enclosed - both of which I love and yes, I was naughty and opened the humorous card and presents, as she intended.  

There are times when I am definitely “philoslothical” and the little gingerbread girl with my name on it is so cute and I have to admit that I do love gingerbread.  Inside the card my Blip friend had written  “Am not sending chocolates as you have lost so much weight and am sure you ration yourself!”  I must say that if she had sent chocolate, it would have been eaten straightaway.  She also said “I know it’s early, but am sure it’s your humour,” and of course, she’s quite right;  if I lose everything else, I pray I never lose my sense of humour!

Under Door 10 of our Advent Calendar for the charity, Road Victims Trust (and there's no apostrophe, I notice!) it said, “Today you have funded the first five minutes of telephone support for someone who has been bereaved by a road traffic collision.”  This was particularly poignant for us because our younger son was seriously injured in a road accident when he was 15 years old, and we were fortunate to have friends around who helped us through a traumatic time.

“There is nothing more beautiful
     than someone who goes out of their way
          to make life beautiful
               for others.”
Mandy Hale

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s family photograph - I do apologise for lack of comments at the moment, but my hand is still quite painful, so I am trying not to do too much typing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.