La vida de Annie

By Annie

Clima ventoso.

It was my own fault. Yesterday there was an orange weather alert, with 80 km/hr winds and 6m waves predicted. As it was so nice on the beach, sunny and with only light (though cold) north wind, I chose to ignore that. After all, the forecast here is very often wrong. I was woken at 1am by Maxie frantically scratching at the bedroom door to get in. She was spooked by what I soon realised were crashes and bangs and creaks from outside. The rest of the night I lay awake trying to identify what was getting broken. In the daylight I struggled to stay upright in the still-strong gale to find broken plants, a smashed security light, and worst of all, my beloved rotary dryer completely uprooted complete with the chunk of concrete in which it was embedded. Most of the washing was still partially attached, although it took awhile to locate a pair of M&S knickers caught high up in a bush. Why did I not bring the washing in last night and fold up the dryer? Doh.
This broken tree in a nearby garden shows how strong the gale was. It seems the wind and cold conditions are due to last all week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.