Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Postcards from the 1970's

These are some of the postcards my brother sent to my parents, mostly when he was in his twenties. He visited Norway, Greece, the European Alps and Yosemite from his home in the UK. He was a keen rock climber, and died in 1985 aged 34. I've been busy sorting papers and photos, including scanning old slides, since my mother moved into a retirement unit and handed all this over to me for safe-keeping or disposal.

It's hard to throw things away that have been lovingly stored for all these years, but the strong practical streak in me is loth to fill too many boxes with contents that will never again see the light of day. So this time-comsuming sorting process is necessary. I think the postcards fall into the 'keep' category, for the time-being at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.